The Grove book of opera singers
Find books in our catalog in these subjects:
Reference books are great places to start when researching a musical era, style, composer or other topic for a paper or presentation. They provide background information, giving definitions, dates, and more. Best of all, they are credible, reliable academic sources, written by subject specialists.
Entries in reference books often include a bibliography, which provides an additional listing of sources. You'll find the Reference Collection on the Main Level of the Library past the Computer Commons. Note that some of the Reference Books have been put on Course Reserve. Reference books cannot leave the Library.
Below are the major Reference Books at KCC related to music. You'll find many more in the Reference Collection in the 780s.
Classical Music: The Listeners Companion
by
Encyclopedia of Rap and Hip-Hop Culture
The Encyclopedia of Popular Music
by
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
by
The Harvard Dictionary of Music
by
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
by
Musical Instruments: History, Technology, and Performance of Instruments of Western Music
by
Try these Subjects from the catalog:
The Library Collection contains a range of materials useful to Music students: books, CDs, DVDs/videos and a small selection of musical scores. When searching for what is available, use the Library Catalog.
All music materials are found in the 780s:
780: General information about music, including history.
781: General principles and music forms, including elements, composition, techniques and traditions.
782: Vocal music, including opera, liturgical, secular and specific voice forms (men, women, children, etc.)
783: Music for the single voice, including solos and specific voice ranges (high-low)
784: Instruments and instrumental ensembles, including orchestra and band
struments & instrumental ensembles
785: Chamber music
786: Keyboard and other instruments (percussion, electronic, mechanical, etc.)
787: Stringed instruments (all things stringed)
788: Wind instruments
This is the Dewey Decimial classification system. Along with searching the catalog, students are encouraged to browse the Library shelves by call number as a means of finding relevant materials. All music CDs are located behind the circulation desk.
