Kanopy is an award-winning video streaming service providing access to more than 30,000 independent and documentary films ─ titles of unique social and cultural value from The Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, Media Education Foundation, and thousands of independent filmmakers.
FILM REVIEWS: Film reviews provide an overview of the film, including information on the storyline, the actors, the general effectiveness of the film and the writer's opinion on the value of the film. Is it worth seeing? Is it worth buying? Reviews appear in a wide range of publications and are generally easy to find. Reviews are available though the web as well as in the online article databases.
FILM CRITICISM & ANALYSIS: Film criticism and analysis give an in-depth look at a particular film, exploring the film from a cultural, historical, political or social prespective. Critiques are scholarly and examine the film more thoroughly and completely than reviews, looking at the film broadly or examining one specific aspect of the film. These are harder to locate and are generally found through online article databases.
KCC Online Article Database for Film Research: when searching for either a review or a critique/analysis of a film, try using the word "motion picture" in your search as this is how many databases reference films. For more instructions on searching databases, see the "Article" tab on this LibGuide.
Find articles from popular magazines to scholarly journals on a broad range of topics. A librarian favorite!
Looking for movie images? Here are two great websites with stills from both the modern and silent film era.
Mary Pickford in the 1927 film, My Best Girl.
KCC's Library contains a wide selection of titles related to Films, Motions Pictures and Television. Most of these books are located in the Library's Reference Collection, housed on the Main Level. These books are for in-library use only.
Here's a list of some of the key titles. Each is linked to the Library Catalog where you'll find complete information on the book. To locate others, search the Library Catalog or browse the shelves.
♦ Contemporary Theatre, Film and Television
♦ The Complete Film Dictionary
♦ Critical Dictionary of Film and Television Theory
♦ Filmed Books and Plays: A List of Books and Plays from which Films have been made, 1928-1986
♦ Halliwell's Film & Video Guide, 2001
♦ Have You Seen?: A Personal Introduction to 100 Films
♦ History of the American Cinema
♦ International Film Guide 2008: The Definitive Annual Review of World Cinema
♦ International Motion Picture Almanac
♦ International Television & Video Almanac
♦ Leonard Maltin's Movie & Video Guide
♦ The Macmillan Film Bibliography
♦ The New Biograhpical Dictionary of Film
♦ The New York Times Directory of the Film
♦ The Oxford Companion to Film