Research Guides: English Research Guide: Articles

Where To Start

Search Everything at KCC

This search box (also found on the Library Homepage) allows you to discover everything the Library has in one convenient place! The tutorial above explains more about how to make the best use of this search: The Discovery Service.

Academic Search Complete
Find articles from popular magazines to scholarly journals on a broad range of topics. A librarian favorite!
JSTOR
Core journals in Economics, History, Political Science, Sociology, and other fields of the Humanities and Social Sciences
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Provides different views about issues that help students develop critical thinking skills. This resource brings balance and perspective to contemporary issues using arguments from experts.
Humanities Source
Covers literary, scholarly, and creative thought. Ideal for students, researchers, and educators interested in the humanities.
Newspaper Source Plus
Includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires, and news magazines. Offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources. Primary full coverage newspapers are The Washington Post and USA Today.

View All Our Databases

If you need an article we don't have, we can still help!

Materials not available in the KCC Library can be obtained from other libraries through InterLibrary Loan (ILL).

There is no charge for this service, but it takes time, usually between 10-14 days.
Materials are picked up at the KCC Library Check Out Desk.

CLICK HERE OR ON THE IMAGE ABOVE TO SUBMIT YOUR INTERLIBRARY LOAN REQUEST

Questions? Contact Jennifer Ridge, Access Services Technician or email interlibraryloan@kellogg.edu

Google Scholar lets you search the entire internet for scholarly sources. You'll find lot's of great resources here that we don't have. The only drawback is that some things might be hidden behind a pay wall. If you run into that, you can request the item through us! See the Finding Full Text tab for more details.

Google Scholar

General Use Databases

Academic Search Complete
Find articles from popular magazines to scholarly journals on a broad range of topics. A librarian favorite!
Artstor
Artstor is now integrated with Jstor. Use the image tab of the search box to access images. With approximately 300 collections composed of over 2.5 million images (and growing), scholars can examine wide-ranging material such as Native American art from the Smithsonian, treasures from the Louvre, and panoramic, 360-degree views of the Hagia Sophia in a single, easy-to-use resource.
JSTOR
Core journals in Economics, History, Political Science, Sociology, and other fields of the Humanities and Social Sciences
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Provides different views about issues that help students develop critical thinking skills. This resource brings balance and perspective to contemporary issues using arguments from experts.
HeinOnline Academic Package (On Campus Only)
The academic research package features more than 100 million pages of content and covers more than 100 subject areas. With more historical content than any other database, HeinOnline provides access to 300+ years of information on political development and the complete history of the creation of government and legal systems around the world.
Humanities Source
Covers literary, scholarly, and creative thought. Ideal for students, researchers, and educators interested in the humanities.
Newspaper Source Plus
Includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires, and news magazines. Offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources. Primary full coverage newspapers are The Washington Post and USA Today.

View All Our Databases

Literature Databases

Academic Search Complete
Find articles from popular magazines to scholarly journals on a broad range of topics. A librarian favorite!
JSTOR
Core journals in Economics, History, Political Science, Sociology, and other fields of the Humanities and Social Sciences
Poetry & Short Story Reference Source
Hundreds of thousands of poems, as well as short stories, biographies, and essays. Topics include the poetic forms, movements, and techniques.
NoveList Plus
Contains information on over 260,000 fiction and readable nonfiction titles. Features lists of award-winning books, book discussion guides, Read-a-Like recommendations, and complete series information. Also includes reader ratings and reviews. Create your own reading wish list.
Literary Reference Source
Includes over 14,000 short stories and 54,000+ poems. Covers information on thousands of authors and their works. Topics include: plot summaries, literary criticism, book reviews, novels, and author interviews.

Environmental Research Databases

Environment Complete
Scholarly, academic coverage in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and related areas.
Turfgrass Information File
Cooperative project of the United States Golf Association and the Michigan State University Libraries’ Turfgrass Information Center. Provides bibliographic and descriptive records of all types of work related to turfgrass culture. Established in 1983. Over 50% full text content.
GreenFILE
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

English Research Guide